Local students awarded $8000 in sports grants

16 local students have each been granted $500 to help them pursue their sporting dreams.

The students, from a range of schools and sporting clubs across the Frankston and Mornington regions, are the successful recipients of the latest round of the Commonwealth Government’s Local Sporting Champions grants.

The programme provides funding to young sportsmen and women who are participating in a state, national or international sporting competition. The grant can contribute towards the cost of travel, accommodation, equipment and/or uniforms for the nominated sporting competition.

Playing sport has a number of benefits for our young people. Aside from the obvious health advantages, it builds confidence, develops leadership skills and provides important social interaction.

But sport at a competitive level can be costly, and these grants help our young people ‘stay in the game’.

I encourage local junior sports people to apply for future grant rounds. Applications for the first 2016 round close on 30 June 2016. Go to ausport.gov.au for more information or to apply.

Dunkley recipients – Round 3- Local Sporting Champions Grants  

Name Event/sport
Claudia Whitfort Australian Surf Lifesaving Championships
Carys Waetford School Sport Australian Nationals  (Canoeing)
Adam Ford Australian Futsal National Championships
Brody Riley 2016 Australian Youth Nationals (Sailing)
Jordyn Mcconchie Australian Junior Track And Field Championships
Monte Charters School Sport Australia Track  & Field Championships
Abbey O’Brien U15 Girls National Championships (Hockey)
Alexia Loizou Australian Junior Championships (Athletics)
Corey Riley Australian Youth Nationals  (Sailing)
Flynn Hedley BMX National Titles
Lily Baker National Fencing Championships
Michael Cann Australian Junior Championships (Athletics)
Monika Galovic 2016 National Sprint Championships (Canoeing)
Will Thompson Australian Junior Athletics Championships
Brenn Lockhart-Meaney Australian Surf Lifesaving Championships
Cassidy Lockhart-Meaney Australian Surf Lifesaving Championships